The Slotcar Outhouse

A 'no bull' site for 1:32 slot car racing. Home of the 'Slotcar Legends'

Revell March 83G 'Blue Thunder'

wixwacing
Marshal!!!

Revell March 83G 'Blue Thunder'

Post by wixwacing »

Revell/ Monogram seem intent on making life difficult for more than one slot car enthusiast. Just at a time when there are more than enough models to chose from, they release cars like this!

Unfair I cry, unfair! I am a scratch builder and not supposed to be a collector, I have resisted many erstwhile attractive models simply because they are either too expensive, (Hands up all those who have Racer Ferraris) Too Common, (Another Porsche 911! No thanks (Yawn), or don’t cut it as a driving car,(No more Minis, please!)

But it seems that Messers Revell & Monogram have chosen to ignore the plees of the social help groups dealing with slot car bankruptcy, marriage break ups and slot car ‘fixers’

It’s time someone stood up and said “NO MORE”

(Deathly silence !)

Well, just one more then, ‘til the next time!

I know this review has been covered on other boards ‘til the cows came home' but maybe amongst the following you might find the odd snippet as yet unmentioned.

When I opened my much awaited March 83G some weeks ago now, it struck me, virtually. The bold contrast of the Blue Thunder livery is, to say the least, striking! The car finish goes from white to black in four easy steps passing through two very luxurious shades of metallic blue along the way. This is a reproduction of the car driven by Randy Lanier and Bill Whittington in the 1984 IMSA Championship (USA). March Engineering were a small English company who developed a penchant for car racing of many kinds. They built and sold bodies/rolling chassis for a lot of motor sport groups, some of the more notorious being the GP car with the ‘Surf Board’ front wing and the equally striking 2-4-0 GP car with a four wheel drive rear end.